• Naija Rules! has been around since 2003, providing a hangout for the fans of Nigerian and African movies. Our members were in the forefront of the spread of movies from Africa to the world.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abulu2000

Hello everyone,
I was quite impressed at the level of production and quality of the naijarules site. Equally thrilled at the level of discourse especially with regards to Nigerian films. Being a Nigerian film producer myself, I believe Sola and others have done a fantastic job. From time to time, I'll try to comment on the value of traditional or contemporary content in the films. My position is that contemporary Nigerian culture is yet to be defined...this is trully where the debate lies. What is the true African personality? This topic has to be fully addressed so that Nigerian filmmakers can begin to tell stories that are reflective of (their) personality. I've seen some fine ones, but in my view others leave alot to be desired. Please keep the flag flying...all your comments on this illustrous forum will engender depth in the Nigerian psyche. It is time for us to have confidence and pride in our rich positives. Just in case you are wondering about any of my projects, please check out "Back To Africa" shot in Nigeria in '97. You will also hear a lot more about FAN (Filmmakers Association of Nigeria U.S.A.) This organisation will monitor and manage the copyrights of all Nigerian movies under it's protection in the U.S. It is a new day folks! It will mean the end of copyright infringements, because we will prosecute all defaulters in a heart beat.

Kudos once again all.

As we say back home, "We don ready for action."

Tony Abulu (President, Filmmakers Association of Nigeria, U.S.A.)

Sola

Administrator
Staff member
I don't know how this post also went into the need validation category - that should not exist. I just found it and validated it. I have to find out why this is happening though.